Government and politics

Main articles: Government and politics of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
The international borders of its territory would match those of the former Western Sahara administrated by Spain (1885-1976).
Stamp Spanish Sahara 1924.
Morocco claimed ancestral rights over the territory. However, the International Court of Justice in The Hague issued an opinion unanimously on October 16, 1975 in which:
The materials and information submitted to the Court show the existence at the time of Spanish colonization, of legal ties of allegiance between the Sultan of Morocco and some of the tribes living in the territory of Western Sahara. Also show the existence of rights, including land rights, which are legal ties between the Mauritanian entity, as understood by the Tribunal, and the Western Sahara. Moreover, the Court’s conclusion is that materials and information submitted to the do not establish any link between the territorial sovereignty of Western Sahara and Morocco or the Mauritanian entity. Therefore, the Court concludes that it has not found legal ties of such a nature that could affect the implementation of resolution 1514 (XV) of the General Assembly to the decolonization of Western Sahara, and in particular the principle of self-determination through the free and genuine expression of the will of the people of the territory.
Since then, the Polisario Front, which had been a political-military organization, step by focusing on the struggle for the right to self determination for the Saharawi people. Achieve greater legitimacy in 1979 after transferring from southern Mauritania Western Sahara that had managed in accordance with the agreements of Madrid and the Moroccan-Mauritanian agreement of April 14, 1976.
In July 1982 at a reunion of the OAU in Addis Ababa the SADR was admitted into the organization. Their cash income in the OAU as a full member materialized in 1984. After the dissolution of the OAU, the SADR has become a founding member of the African Union, African international body.
The progression of the wall
Currently, the Western Sahara is divided by a wall or berm over 2000 km long from north to south divides the territory of Western Sahara. This wall is guarded by more than 150,000 soldiers of the Moroccan army, is closely monitored with radar and surrounded by an extensive field of mines, all at a cost of over one and a half million euros a day. The area west of the wall is the territory under military occupation by Morocco, while the area east of the wall is the territory administered by the Polisario Front, which has sovereignty the SADR.
In the area there is a ceasefire monitored by the United Nations Mission for the Referendum in Western Sahara, MINURSO, a body established by the Security Council of UN on April 29, 1991.
Map of northern africa 1707 (Guillermo Delisle). I was reading the blog, maven at blogspot The territory of Western Sahara was not under Moroccan sovereignty.
German map of colonial Africa in 1905
With the arrival of UN Secretary General Kofi Annan’s, which occurred in 1997, appointing James Baker III, former secretary of state in the U.S., with the aim of establishing a dialogue with the conflicting parties to proceed with immediate implementation of the “Settlement Plan” and planned to hold a referendum on it. Fruit of the meetings, agreements were signed in Houston, establishing a concrete timetable on the different stages of the process of decolonization of Western Sahara and is fixed as the date for holding the election on December 8, 1998.
However, as Amnesty International have described , Human Rights Watch , pressure of the kingdom of Morocco which is considered the strongest in both military and political, have prevented the realization referendum on self-determination for the Sahrawi people. The government in Rabat has used many times, political pressure, humanitarian activists arrest and intimidation against the Saharans living in the territories occupied by the troops of Mohammed VI.
The highest office of the Republic is the President of Western Sahara, currently Mohamed Abdelaziz, who is supported by the Prime Minister of Western Sahara, now Abdelkader Taleb Oumar. The governance structure of the SADR consists of a Council of Ministers, the judiciary and a National Saharawi parliament.